- Calcium 36 milligrams
- Iron 2.98 milligrams
- Magnesium 42 milligrams
- Phosphorus 83 milligrams
- Potassium 1014 milligrams
- Sodium 59 milligrams
- Zinc 0.63 milligrams
Vitamins in 100 grams of Tomato Paste:
- Vitamin C, total ascorbic acid 21.9 milligrams
- Thiamin 0.06 milligrams
- Riboflavin 0.153 milligrams
- Niacin 3.076 milligrams
- Vitamin B-6 0.216 milligrams
- Folate, DFE 12 µg
- Vitamin A, RAE 76 µg
- Vitamin A, IU 1525 IU
- Vitamin E (alpha-tocopherol) 4.3 milligrams
- Vitamin K (phylloquinone) 11.4 micrograms
Lipids in 100 grams of Tomato Paste:
- Fatty acids, total saturated 0.1 grams
- Fatty acids, total monounsaturated 0.067 grams
- Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated 0.16 grams
Uses in Cooking
For best results, simmer your tomato paste on the stovetop it so that it can caramelize, which greatly enhances its flavor. Add it to your recipes after you’ve sautéed the aromatics, like garlic, onion, and herbs. The tomato paste only needs a couple minutes to caramelize and develop a darker color and richer flavor. Adding your tomato paste too early could cause it to burn, so make sure you keep an eye on it as it browns.
Tomato paste can be used to prepare a number of the dishes, including:
- Use tomato paste to make homemade low-sugar ketchup
- Use it is soups and stews.
- Add it to thicken tomato sauces for pasta.
- Add body to casseroles and meatloaf.
- Use it to marinate for meat.
- Combine tomato paste, olive oil, and oregano for a low sugar pizza sauce.
Fiber in Tomato Paste
There are 4 grams of dietary fiber in 100 grams of tomato paste.
Sugar in Tomato Paste
100 grams of tomato paste contains 12 grams of sugar.
Is Tomato Paste Gluten-Free?
The popular brand, chi chi las assures that all of their processed tomato products, including tomato paste, pasta sauces and pizza sauces, are considered gluten-free at less than 20 parts per million. Some brands may add wheat flour as a thickener, so always check the label first to make sure there is no wheat or flour added.
Is Tomato Paste Vegan?
Yes, tomato paste is cruelty-free and does not contain any animal products. However, as with most foods, there may be variations by brand. Always scan the label before purchasing tomato paste or sauce to ensure there are no animal products added to the product.